Store International Constitutional Law of 10 New EU Member States
Constitutional Law of 10 New EU Member States

Constitutional Law of 10 New EU Member States

Edited by Constantijn A.J.M. Kortmann, Joseph Fleuren, Wim Voermans


Available: Ships in 3-5 Business Days
Buy Now
This book systematically describes the constitutional law of the ten Member States that acceded to the European Union in 2004: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. Each chapter, written by an expert from the country in question, starts with a sketch of the country¿s constitutional history as an indispensable background to a proper understanding of the relevant constitution as it operates today. The subsequent outline of the constitutional system deals with the sources of constitutional law, the head of state, the government, parliament, executive-legislative relationships, the legislative process, the parliamentary scrutiny of government activity, the electoral system, political parties, post-World War II election results and governments, the judiciary, regional and local government, and fundamental rights. The chapters conclude with a short bibliography. The book is complementary to `Constitutional Law of 15 EU Member States¿, edited by Lucas Prakke and Constantijn Kortmann, which covers the constitutional systems of the countries that made up the European Union before the 2004 enlargement
Resources DM Piece
Publish Date 03/15/2007
Product Line Kluwer Law International
ISBN 9789041126214
SKU 10057500-0001