By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff
The Virginia Minimum Wage Act is amended to remove an exemption for newsboys, shoe-shine boys, babysitters who work 10 hours or more per week, ushers, doormen, concession attendants, and cashiers in theaters, as well as to make technical changes. The exemptions were included under the definition of “employee” in the Act. Those who are employed as babysitters for fewer than 10 hours per week and golf caddies remain exempt under the law.
Governor Ralph S. Northam signed the package of bills—Senate Bill 1079 and House Bill 2473—on March 8.
The Department of Labor and Industry’s (DOLI) Labor Law division will have to begin enforcing minimum wage provisions for these employees who will be covered under the Act as of the effective date of the bills, on July 1, 2019. (Commonwealth of Virginia, Office of the Governor, News Release, March 8, 2019.)
Interested in submitting an article?
Submit your information to us today!Learn More