Nevada law raises minimum wage, guarantees paid sick leave
News
Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Nevada law raises minimum wage, guarantees paid sick leave

By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff

Nevada Governor Steve Sisolak signed legislation on June 12 that raise Nevada’s minimum wage, guarantee paid sick days for Nevada workers, and secure collective bargaining rights for state employees for the first time in Nevada history.

Assembly Bill 456 raises the state minimum wage by 75 cents each year beginning in 2020, until it reaches $12 per hour, representing the first significant change to the minimum wage in over a decade.

The increases will begin on July 1, 2020, when employers who offer employees with qualified health benefit plans will be required to pay employees a minimum of $8 per hour and employers who do not provide health benefits will be required to pay employees a minimum wage of $9 per hour. The state minimum wage has remained at $7.25 per hour for employees offered health insurance and $8.25 per hour if not offered health insurance since July 1, 2010.

A.B. 456 is effective July 1, 2019.

Back to Top

Interested in submitting an article?

Submit your information to us today!

Learn More