By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff
The minimum wage in Missouri will increase to $9.45 per hour effective January 1, 2020, according to the Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations.
State law requires all private businesses to pay at a minimum, the $9.45 hourly rate, except retail and service businesses whose gross sales are less than $500,000. Pursuant to Proposition B, which was approved by Missouri voters November 6, 2018, the minimum wage will increase 85 cents per hour each year through 2023. Missouri law does not apply to public employers, nor does it allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate.
Compensation for tipped employees must also total at least $9.45 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $9.45 per hour.
The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards, has updated the Missouri Minimum Wage Poster for 2020, which is available in English and in Spanish. Posters can be downloaded and printed from the DLSMinimum Wage website or may be requested from the Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards, 3315 W. Truman Blvd., Room 205, P.O. Box 449, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449; telephone (573) 751-3403. (State of Missouri, Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Press Release, December 6, 2019; https://labor.mo.gov/news/press-releases/minimum-wage-rate-set-private-employers-2020.)
Interested in submitting an article?
Submit your information to us today!Learn More