Iowa declares additional counties eligible for DUA
Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Iowa declares additional counties eligible for DUA

By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff

On April 12, 2019, FEMA declared individuals in Pottawattamie and Shelby counties eligible for individual assistance. The FEMA finding determined that these counties were adversely affected by the event declared a major disaster by the President in his Declaration of March 23, 2019. Citizens in Pottawattamie and Shelby are now eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (already designated for public assistance). Applications for DUA must be filed by May 17, 2019.

Information needed. Individuals will need their Social Security Numbers and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer to file for DUA. Applicants are required to provide proof (at the time of filing or within 21 days of filing their DUA claim) that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin (or resume) a job or self-employment when the disaster occurred. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs also may be required (self-employed individuals should provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F).

How to apply. Individuals who want to apply for assistance must file a claim online at Claim applications may be filed online at any time. If assistance is needed over the telephone, please call IWD Customer Service at 866-239-0843. After a claim application has been submitted, refer to the additional DUA information on the state’s website at (IWD Communication, 4/17/2019).

Back to Top

Interested in submitting an article?

Submit your information to us today!

Learn More