By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff
For corporate and personal income tax purposes, the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS) has updated an informational publication that contains specifications and instructions for electronic filing of Forms 1099-R, 1099-MISC, 1099-K, and W-2G for the 2018 tax year including information on:
- third party bulk filers;
- the correction of an electronic submission; and
- supplemental returns.
When to file. Forms 1099-R, 1099-MISC, W-2G and Form CT-1096, Connecticut Annual Summary and Transmittal of Information Returns, are due January 31, 2019. Form 1099K is due no later than 30 days after filing of the other forms with the IRS. Form CT-1096 will be completed as part of the electronic filing process when the state copy of federal Forms 1099-R, 1099-MISC, 1099Kand W-2G are uploaded.
Electronic filing requirements. Employers who file 25 or more Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, or W-2G are required to file electronically unless they have been granted a waiver from this requirement.
Extension. Form CT-8809, Request for Extension of Time to File Information Returns, must be filed on or before January 31 in order to request an extension of time to file. Form CT-8809 cannot be filed electronically.
Waiver. The DRS can waive the electronic reporting requirement only if the payer is unable to file electronically due to a documented hardship. Form CT-8508, Request for Waiver From Filing Information Returns Electronically, must be filed on or before January 1, 2019, in order to request a waiver. Form CT-8508 cannot be filed electronically.
Penalties. The penalty for late filing is $50. A penalty of $5 per form (up to a total of $2,000 per calendar year) is imposed on payers who fail to file federal Forms 1099 or W-2G with DRS. Failure to file the state copy of federal Form 1099-K will result in a civil penalty of $50 for the first month for each 1099-K that a taxpayer is required and fails to file, plus $50 for each month, or fraction thereof, for which such failure continues; the total amount of penalty imposed will not exceed $250,000 per year. This penalty is also imposed on payers who are required to file electronically if they file using any other media without first obtaining a waiver.
Record keeping. Records pertaining to Connecticut information returns must be retained for at least four years after the due date of the return. (Informational Publication 2018(12.1), Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, December 20, 2018; superseding Information Publication 2017(12), November 13, 2017.)
Interested in submitting an article?
Submit your information to us today!Learn More