By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff
California’s minimum wage will increase on January 1 to $13 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and to $12 for employers with 25 or fewer employees. State law requires that most California workers be paid the minimum wage. Some cities and counties have a local minimum wage that is higher than the state rate
Legislation enacted in 2016 —Senate Bill 3— provided for increases in the state minimum wage over time to reach $15 per hour statewide by 2022 for large businesses and by 2023 for small businesses.
Employers are required to post information on wages, hours and working conditions at a worksite area accessible to employees. Employer posting requirements are available from the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR), Workplace Postings website. The California Minimum Wage poster has been updated and is now available in both English and in Spanish. (State of California, Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, News Release No. 2019-93, December 5, 2019.)
Interested in submitting an article?
Submit your information to us today!Learn More