Arkansas amends its law regarding its taxable wage base
News
Thursday, July 11, 2019

Arkansas amends its law regarding its taxable wage base

By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff

Arkansas’ Employment Security Law has been amended as follows:

Taxable wage base. Effective beginning January 1, 2020, the taxable wage base, which is $10,000 for 2019, will range from $7,000 to $10,000 depending on the average seasonal unadjusted insured unemployment rate during the period of July 1 through June 30 of the most recently completed state fiscal year. Note that if the federal taxable wage base is increased, then the new federal taxable wage base will be the new minimum state taxable wage base:

Rate range: 0.0% to 1.0%, $7,000.

Note that if the federal taxable wage base is increased, then the new federal taxable wage base will be the new minimum state taxable wage base.

Rate range: 1.01% to 1.49%, $8,000.

Note that if the federal taxable wage base is increased, then that part of remuneration that is $1,000 greater than the state minimum amount will be the new minimum state taxable wage base.

Rate range: 1.50% to 2.19%, $9,000.

Note that if the federal taxable wage base is increased, then that part of remuneration that is $2,000 greater than the state minimum amount will be the new minimum state taxable wage base.

Rate range: 2.20% or more, $10,000.

Note that if the federal taxable wage base is increased, then that part of remuneration that is $3,000 greater than the state minimum amount will be the new minimum state taxable wage base.

In addition, when the UI trust fund balance falls below six hundred million or four hundred million dollars, the taxable wage base will increase to $11,000 or $12,000, respectively.

Back to Top

Interested in submitting an article?

Submit your information to us today!

Learn More