By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff
The Alaska minimum wage will increase from $10.19 to $10.34 in 2021. A ballot initiative passed by voters in 2014 requires the state minimum wage to be adjusted annually for inflation. Alaska Statute 23.10.065(a) requires the Alaska minimum wage to be adjusted using the Consumer Price Index for urban consumers in the Anchorage metropolitan area (Anchorage CPI-U) for the preceding calendar year. The Anchorage CPI-U increased 1.4% in 2019. As a result, the minimum wage will rise from $10.19 to $10.34 effective Jan. 1, 2021. By law, Alaska’s minimum wage must remain at least $1 per hour over the federal minimum wage. (Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Office of the Commissioner, News Release No. 20-32, September 16, 2020).
Interested in submitting an article?
Submit your information to us today!Learn More