Alabama announces relief for taxpayers affected by Hurricane Zeta
Thursday, January 21, 2021

Alabama announces relief for taxpayers affected by Hurricane Zeta

By Payroll and Entitlements Editorial Staff

Alabama taxpayers who reside or have a business in Clarke, Dallas, Marengo, Mobile, Perry, Washington, and Wilcox counties and have been affected by damage caused by Hurricane Zeta may claim tax relief measures that mirror IRS measures in the same declared disaster areas. Alabama taxpayers residing in areas designated as disaster areas by the federal government have until March 1, 2021, to file tax returns due on or after Oct. 28, 2020, and before March 1, 2021. Penalty relief will be provided during the extension period.

Affected taxpayers filing for Individual Income Tax, Corporate Income Tax, Pass-through Entities, Business Privilege Tax, or Withholding Tax may submit a penalty waiver request using the Alabama Department of Revenue’s (department’s) Form PWR, Request for Waiver of Penalty.

The taxpayers in areas not specifically designated as disaster areas who encounter difficulty filing on time due to weather-related circumstances associated with Hurricane Zeta may be eligible to request a waiver of late-filing and late-payment penalties after providing appropriate documentation to department.

Taxpayers may review IRS tax relief announcement regarding Hurricane Zeta. (Press Release, Alabama Department of Revenue, January 5, 2021).

Back to Top

Interested in submitting an article?

Submit your information to us today!

Learn More