Employment Law Daily Minimum wage increases begin in 20 states on or before January 1
News
Thursday, January 3, 2019

Minimum wage increases begin in 20 states on or before January 1

Twenty states have seen increases in the minimum wage in the new year—one, New York, actually began on December 31.

The minimum wage increases are scheduled as follows:

Alaska. The minimum wage in Alaska has increased from $9.84 per hour to $9.89 per hour on January 1, 2019.

Alaska’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on inflation. The change for 2019 reflects a 0.5 percent increase in the cost of living.

Arizona. The minimum wage in Arizona was scheduled to increase to $11 per hour on January 1, 2019.

Arkansas. The minimum wage in Arkansas increased to $9.25 per hour on January 1 per voter approval of Ballot Issue No. 5 in the November 6, 2018, General Election.

California. The minimum wage in California was scheduled to increase on January 1 as follows: $12 per hour for large employers with 26 or more employees; $11 per hour for smaller employers with 25 or fewer employees.

Colorado. The Colorado minimum wage increased to $11.10 per hour on January 1, as part of a scheduled increase.

Delaware. The minimum wage has increased to $8.75 per hour on January 1, as part of a scheduled increase.

In addition, there will be a training wage for those over the age of 18 for the first 90 days of employment and a youth wage for those under the age of 18 at rates of not more than 50 cents less than the minimum wage.

Florida. The minimum wage in Florida has increased from $8.21 per hour to $8.46 per hour on January 1.

Florida’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on inflation. The change for 2019 reflects a 2.59 percent increase in the cost of living (CPI South Region).

Maine. The minimum wage in Maine increased from $10 per hour to $11 per hour on January 1.

Massachusetts. The minimum wage in Massachusetts was scheduled to increase from $11 per hour to $12 per hour on January 1.

Michigan. The minimum wage increased to $9.45 in 2019, under the “Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act” (P.A. 337), as amended by Public Act 368 (S.B. 1171). Although S.B. 1171 has this increase scheduled for January 1, the effective date of the measures are on the 91st day after adjournment of the state legislature. This would possibly delay the increase until a tentative date of around March 21, 2019.

Minnesota. The minimum wage in Minnesota has increased from $9.65 per hour to $9.86 per hour for employees of large employers with gross revenues of $500,000 or more.

For employees of smaller employers, the minimum wage will increase from $7.87 per hour to $8.04 per hour. The Minnesota minimum wage is adjusted annually based on the rate of inflation. The change for 2019 reflects a 2.16 percent increase in the cost of living. However, a higher rate applies in the City of Minneapolis, where the minimum wage rate in is $11.25 per hour for employees of large employers with more than 100 employees and $10.25 per hour for employees of smaller employers with 100 or fewer employees, as of July 1.

Missouri. The minimum wage in Missouri increased to $8.60 per hour on January 1, per voter approval of Proposition B in the November 6, 2018, General Election. All private businesses are required to pay, at minimum, the $8.60 hourly rate, except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000.

Montana. The minimum wage increased from $8.30 per hour to $8.50 per hour on January 1, 2019.

New Jersey. The minimum wage in New Jersey has increased from $8.60 per hour to $8.85 per hour on January 1, 2019.

The minimum wage in New Jersey is adjusted annually based on inflation. The change for 2019 reflects a 2.88 percent increase in the cost of living.

New York. The minimum wage rates in New York were scheduled to increase on December 31, 2018, as follows: In New York City, $15 per hour for businesses with 11 or more employees and $13.50 per hour for businesses with 10 or fewer employees; in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties, $12 per hour; and in the remainder of the state, $11.10 per hour. There are different hourly rates for workers in the fast food industry and those who receive tips.

Ohio. The minimum wage in Ohio has increased from $8.30 per hour to $8.55 per hour on January 1, 2019.

The 2019 minimum wage applies to employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of $314,000 or more per year. For employees at smaller companies with annual gross receipts of less than $314,000 per year after January 1, 2019, and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour.

Rhode Island. The minimum wage in Rhode Island was scheduled to increase from $10.10 per hour to $10.50 per hour on January 1.

South Dakota. The minimum wage in South Dakota increased from $8.85 per hour to $9.10 per hour on January 1.

South Dakota’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on inflation. The change for 2019 is based on a 2.7 percent increase in the cost of living.

Vermont. The minimum wage in Vermont increased to $10.78 per hour on January 1.

Washington. The minimum wage in Washington has increased from $11.50 per hour to $12 per hour on January 1, as part of a scheduled increase.

Washington’s minimum wage applies to workers in both agricultural and non-agricultural jobs. However, 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the minimum wage rate.

Interested in submitting an article?

Submit your information to us today!

Learn More
Employment Law Daily

Employment Law Daily: Breaking legal news at your fingertips

Sign up today for your free trial to this daily reporting service created by attorneys, for attorneys. Stay up to date on employment legal matters with same-day coverage of breaking news, court decisions, legislation, and regulatory activity with easy access through email or mobile app.

Free Trial Learn More